23.3 C
Tuesday, November 29, 2022

11 Lawmakers lose APC return tickets as Speaker, deputy, 6 others make list

By Adekola Afolabi
Eleven out of the nineteen incumbent All Progressives Congress (APC) lawmakers in the Ondo State House of Assembly lost the return tickets of the party in the just concluded primaries for aspirants into various elective positions for both National and state Assemblies held at the weekend in Ondo state.

However, eight lawmakers were so lucky to clinch the APC tickets to return to the hallowed chambers if they win their various constituencies in the 2019 general elections.

There are 26 lawmakers in the state House of Assembly. APC has 19 members while the PDP has 7 members.

The eleven incumbent lawmakers who were not so lucky to secure the APC tickets in the primaries are former Speakers of the House, Rt. Hon. Malachi Coker, Ilaje State Constituency 2 former Deputy Speaker, Rt. Hon. Arowele Samuel from Owo State Constituency 1, as well as the Ex-deputy Speaker, Rt. Hon. (Barr) Fatai Olotu from Akoko North-East State Constituency.

Others include the incumbent Majority Leader of the Assembly, Hon. Olugbenga Araoyinbo, representing Akoko North-West State constituency 2; the deputy Majority Leader, Hon. (Barr) Olusegun Ajimotokin, representing Irele State constituency; Hon. Olamide George from Akure North State Constituency; Hon. (Engr) Musa Mukaila, representing Owo State Constituency 2 and Hon. Oluyede Feyide, Ose State Constituency.

The rest are Hon. Akintimehin Tuyi, Idanre State Constituency; Hon. Akinyele Fasogbon and Hon. (Dr.) kaseem Suleiman, representing Akoko South-West State constituency 1.

Those who got the party return tickets are the incumbent Speaker of the House, Rt. Hon. Bamidele Oleyelogun, representing Ifedore State constituency; his deputy, Rt. Hon. Ogundeji Iroju, representing Odigbo State constituency 1; the Parliamentary Secretary of the Assembly, Hon. Jamiu Maito, from Akoko North-West State constituency 1; and Hon. Sunday Olajide, Akure South State constituency 2.

The rest include Hon. Fajolu Abimbola, Ile-Oluji/Oke-Igbo State constituency; Hon. (Prince) Abayomi Akinruntan, Ilaje State constituency 1; Hon. Felemu-Gudu Bankole, Akoko South-West State constituency 2 and Hon. Kuti Towase, Akoko South-East State Constituency.

The All Progressives Congress (APC) in Ondo state described the primary elections across the three senatorial districts of the state as peaceful, free and fair.

Similarly, out of the seven PDP lawmakers, former speaker of the Assembly, Rt. Hon. (Princess) Jumoke Akindele from Okitipupa State constituency 2 and Hon. Vicent Obadiah from Ese-Odo State constituency did not re-contest.

Others like Jon. Olusiji Akindiose, Ondo East State constituency; former Majority Leader of the House, Hon. Olugbenga Akinsoyinu and the incumbent Minority Leader of the House, Hon. (Comrade) Sola Ebiwonjumi, Okitipupa State constituency 1 lost either PDP or Zenith Labour Party (ZLP) tickets to return to the hallowed chambers.

Hon. Kemisola Adesanya, Akure South State constituency 1 and Hon. Ade Adeniyi, Ondo West State constituency 1 equally lost in their bid to clinch the party tickets for their various federal constituencies.

The Hope Owena Press
The Hope Owena Presshttp://www.thehopenewspaper.com
Owena Press Limited (Publisher of The Hope Newspaper), Akure


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest news


Related news