All Stars election: Abayomi, Yusuf tie

…As Electoral Committee plans bye election

It was all square at the Ondo State All Stars elections as two presidential candidates tied on same number of votes.

The duo of Abayomi Opeoluwa and Rafiu Yusuf had scored 43 votes each in the keenly contested All Stars elections, while two votes were voided out of the expected 88 voters.

Oluwole Ajayi (Elastic) scored 46 votes to triumph over Fisayo Abayomi who got 36 votes for the position of the Vice President, while Aderombi Adeleye Joshua returned unopposed for the position of General Secretary.

Segun Adeuyi (German) emerged with 39 votes as against 37 scored by his opponent , Kanu Ogbu for the position of treasurer, while Ogunkoyode Isaac (NAPO) polled 51 votes to defeat his opponent, Peter Aronu who garnered 25 votes .

Abideen Ayeloja also voted Team Manager of the association with 43 votes as against his rival who garnered 38 votes.

Ale Olanrewaju Franklin lost to Lanre Johnson Akinruli for the position of team captain with 38 votes to 43 votes, while Shade Akinrolabu also returned unopposed for the position of Welfare Officer.

In a chat with newsmen, Chairman of the electoral committee, Mr Akin Adebayo said there would be by-election into the tied president position in a date to be announced later.

Adebayo commended members of Ondo State All Stars for their display of maturity, understanding and spirit of sportsmanship displayed before and after the peaceful elections.

“It was not easy to control the crowd, but we thank God for the maturity of our members and peaceful conduct of the election”.

Related News  Ileya Unity Football Competition: IASFC knock out Sunshine Stars U-17

“The bye -election will be conducted on a later date and it will come in any mode which will be acceptable to all members”, he assured.


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *