21.1 C
Sunday, November 27, 2022

Ekiti Assembly gets new Speaker

By Victor Akinkuolie, Ado-Ekiti


Ekiti State House of Assembly on Tuesday elected  Gboyega Aribisogan as the new Speaker of the State House of Assembly.

Aribisogan who represents Ikole State Constituency 1 in the assembly, was elected at plenary following the demise of the former Speaker, Late  Funminiyi Afuye who died last month after a brief illness.

 Aribisogan who polled 15 votes as against 10 votes for  Olubunmi Adelugba who represents Emure Constituency to win the election.

During the plenary, Aribisogan was nominated by  Tajudeen Akingbolu, Ekiti West 1 and seconded by  Adegoke Olajide, Efon Constituency while Bode Adeoye Oyekola, Ekiti West 2 nominated  Olubunmi Adelugba and was seconded by Hon Ojo Martin, Ijero constituency.

After being sworn-in by the Clerk of the House, Mr. Tola Esan, the new Speaker expressed gratitude to his colleagues for the confidence reposed in him and pledged to discharge his duties to the best of his ability and protect the constitution of the country and standing rules of the House of Assembly, adding that he would remain committed to duty.

Until his election as Speaker of the Assembly, Aribisogan was the Majority Leader of the House, a second timer in the Ekiti State Legislature having been elected as member of the 5th Assembly between 2015 – 2019.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest news


Related news