Spread this:


EKSG constitutes chieftaincy review commission

Victor Akinkuolie, Ado-Ekiti
In line with section 2 of the Commission of Inquiry Law of Ekiti State, Governor Kayode Fayemi, has approved the constitution of the Chieftaincy Review Commission.

According to a release from the Chief Press Secretary to the Governor, Mr Yinka Oyebode, members of the commission comprises of; Hon Justice J.B.K Aladejana, Chairman, Hon Busuyi Ayomide, Prof. Isola Olomola, Prof Kunle Ajayi and Mr B.A. Owolabi, who is the Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs as members.

Others are; H.A Adeyemi, Legal Adviser, while Mr. Remi Obaparusi was chosen as the secretary to the commission.

Part of the terms of reference of the Commission, according to the release  are: to examine thoroughly on merit the various representations , claims and petitions submitted by the communities after issuance of the White Paper on the Hon Justice Oyewole’s report on upgrading or otherwise of recognised chieftancies and autonomy/recognition of communities.

Other terms mentioned are to: Investigate and make recommendations on any other chieftancy matter(s) which may be referred to it by the state Government. To look into issues relating to the status of Obas and Chiefs, their paraphernalia of office and order of precedence.

The commission has six months to submit its recommendations.

    Leave Your Comment

    Your email address will not be published.*

    This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

    Forgot Password