23.8 C
Monday, January 17, 2022

ODHA confirms Commissioner-nominees, swears in Clerk

By Josephine Oguntoyinbo


The Ondo State House of Assembly yesterday confirmed the appointment of 14 Commissioner- nominees sent to the House by Governor Oluwarotimi Akeredolu for the State Executive Council.
The Commissioner- nominees are; Mrs Bamidele Ademola Olateju – Akoko South East , Otunba Adefarati Adegboyega – Akoko South West, RT. Fatai Olotu- Akoko North East ,Dr. Julianah Oshadahun – Akoko North West ,Otunba Dele Ologun -Akure North , Mr. Sunday Adekunle Akinwalere – Idanre.
Others are: Razak Obe -Ifedore , Dr. Banji Awolowo Ajaka- Ilaje, Pastor Emmanuel Igbasan – Irele, Mrs Yetunde Adeyanju- Odigbo, Mr. Femi Agagu – Okitipupa, Mr Wale Akinlosotu – Ondo East, Mrs Lola Fagbemi- Ondo West and Chief Olayato Aribo – Ose
The nominees were earlier screened by the House Selection Committee, headed by the Speaker on Monday and Wednesday this week respectively.
Their ratifications were confirmed following the submission and approval of recommendations of selection Committee and subsequent adoption of the lawmakers through voice votes.
The Deputy Speaker of the House and the Vice Chairman of the Committee, Revd. Samuel Aderoboye who read and submitted the report of the Committee noted that they passed through all the norms, have required experiences and qualifications to function effectively in the executive council.
Aderoboye said the nominees were carefully scrutinised and found worthy to be part of the state executive council.
Lawmakers who came from nominees’ various Senatorial Districts also attested to their integrities, achievements and competencies, having served in various capacities in the State and the country.
The Parliamentarians spoke glowingly about the character and contributions of the commissioner-nominees to the growth of humanity and society.
Earlier, a motion for consideration and adoption of the Committee’s report was moved by the Majority Leader, Emmanuel Ogunmolasuyi and seconded by lawmaker representing Akoko South West Constituency 1, Olugbenga Omole.
The Speaker noted that the confirmation became imperative in order to fast-track the instrumentality of governance, saying that the House would continue to support other arms of government to achieve the set goal.
Responding, the Commissioner- designates, appreciated Governor Akeredolu and the House for the confidence reposed in them, noting that the goodwill will not be taken for granted.
They promised to strengthen the system for effective service delivery in the State and equally work with relevant stakeholders to achieve desired results as a way to further contribute their quotas to good governance.
The House also sworn -in a new substantive Clerk, Mr Jayeola Benjamin Taye (Esq), who was confirmed few weeks ago at a plenary
The new Clerk, appreciated Governor Oluwarotimi Akeredolu and the lawmakers for always upholding the truth, pledging total loyalty and promised not to mislead the House.

Latest news


Related news


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here
This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.