#News #Politics

Ondo Assembly ratifies appointment of new commissioners

By Josephine Oguntoyinbo

Ondo State House of Assembly has screened and confirmed the appointment of twelve Commissioner- nominees sent by the State Governor, Lucky Aiyedatiwa.

The twelve nominees sent to the house are; Pastor Segun Ayerin, Mr. Olaolu Akindolire, Alhaji Hamidu Takuro, Dr. Banji Ajaka, Mr. Boye Ologbese, Mr. Sunday Akinwalere, Deaconess Lola Fagbemi, Mr. Saka Yusuf Ogunleye, Mr. Rasheed Badmus, Mr. Olayato Aribo, Mr. Adewale Akinlosotu, and Mr Gbenga Olaniyi.

They were confirmed today at a plenary presided over by the Speaker of the House, Olamide Oladiji.

Oladiji in his ruling announced the ratification following the submission, approval of recommendations of the Selection Committee and adoption of the lawmakers through a voice vote.

The House had earlier conducted screening exercise for the nominees yesterday and today at the assembly complex by the House Committee on Selection headed by the Speaker of the House.

The Governor of the State, Lucky Aiyedatiwa had last week forwarded their names to the Assembly for screening and approval.

The Clerk of the House, Jaiyeola Benjamin read the letter sent to the House by the State Governor for consideration of the nominees.

Presenting the report of the House Selection Committee at a plenary , the Vice Chairman of the Committee and Deputy Speaker, Prince Abayomi Akinruntan said the nominees responded to all questions raised by the Committee in a very eloquent and explicit order.

He noted that they have clear understanding of the positions, adding that they possess the required academic qualifications, physically, mentally and emotionally stable and fit to accomplish the task.

Related News  Govt assets, properties must be protected– Stakeholders

The report also stated that they possess the required experience, Charisma and the much needed exposure to function effectively as Commissioners.

The Majority leader of the House, Oluwole Ogunmolasuyi had earlier moved a motion for the report to be considered and the nominees be confirmed as Commissioner designates and was seconded by the Minority leader,Olajide Oguntodu representing Akure South constituency 1.

Before the confirmation, lawmakers from the nominees constituencies read profiles, spoke glowingly about them and attested to their competencies to function effectively.

The Speaker said the exercise is in line with the constitution, charging the newly Commissioner designates to join hands with the governor to take the State to the next level.

While congratulating them,he enjoined the designates to contribute their quotas to the development of the State and the people.

Deaconess Lola Fagbemi who spoke on behalf of the commissioner designates pledged not to disappoint the Governor, the Lawmakers and the entire citizens of the State.

He assured that it is a new dawn in the State saying that they will bring their experience to bear towards effective service delivery.

Recall that the House of Assembly in February screened and confirmed the appointment of six Commissioner- nominees sent by Governor Lucky Aiyedatiwa.

They are Mr. Olukayode A. Ajulo, SAN, Akoko South West, Razaq Obe, Ifedore, Pastor Emmanuel Igbasan, from lrele, Akinwumi Sowore from Ese-Odo, Mr. Oseni Oyeniyi from Akoko North East and Mrs. Omowumi Isaac, from Owo.

Ondo Assembly ratifies appointment of new commissioners

Breaking: Tinubu signs student loan bill into

Ondo Assembly ratifies appointment of new commissioners

One dead, 600 displaced in Osun rainstorm–

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *