Osun APC adopts consensus for LG congress

By Fisayo Akinduro, Osogbo


Ahead of Saturday’s Local Government Congress, stakeholders in All Progressives Congress (APC) in Ila Federal Constituency of Osun, have adopted consensus arrangement for the exercise.
Ila Federal Constituency comprises Ila, Boluwaduro and Ifedayo local governments.
The decision followed a motion moved by Hon. Adenike Abioye representing Ifedayo State Constituency in the Osun State House of Assembly.
Moving the motion, the lawmaker said that in the spirit of unity and oneness in the party, consensus should be adopted for “our local and state congresses”.
She also moved that Prince Adegboyega Famodun from the Federal Constituency should continue to serve as the State Chairman of the party while Governor Gboyega Oyetola should contest for a second term.
Lati Jaiye from Ila State Constituency at the State House of Assembly seconded the motion, which was later ratified by the whole house.
At the meeting, held at the Ila Orangun country home of the former Interim National Chairman of APC, Chief Adebisi Akande, over the weekend and presided over by the chairman of the Federal Constituency, Joseph Oladapo Fakayode, the stakeholders also appealed to warring members to sheathe their swords and embrace peace in the interest of the party.
They argued that there was no way two people would contest for a position and one would not be sad when they lost out. “But in the spirit of sportsmanship, the winner must embrace the loser while the loser should wait for a better tomorrow,” the stakeholders said.
The meeting also reviewed the process leading to the last ward Congress and the aftermath and submitted that reconciliation committees should be put in place to reach out to members that are feeling aggrieved.
They also commended the Governor for being proactive by putting in place processes and strategies for reconciliation barely two days after the Ward Congress and urged all the other stakeholders to complement the efforts of the Governor ahead of next year’s governorship poll.
The meeting also welcomed the decision of Hon. Funmi Olaseinde to defect from the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, with her followers to the APC.
Hon. Olaseinde is a former Council chairman and a former member of the State House of Assembly from Ifedayo.

Related News  I won't take your support for granted, Aiyedatiwa assures APC members
Osun APC adopts consensus for LG congress

How to fix infrastructure deficit-Economist

Osun APC adopts consensus for LG congress

‘No going back on creation of LCDA

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *