Owoeye emerges Osun Speaker

Owoeye emerges Osun Speaker

From Fisayo Akinduro, Osogbo
Mr. Timothy Owoeye, the lawmaker representing Ilesa East state Constituency was on Thursday elected as the Speaker of the 7th Osun State House of Assembly.

Owoeye, a fourth time member of the House was elected under the platform of the All Progressives Congress, (APC) by the leaders of the party.

 Owoeye who was believed to have enjoyed the backing of the immediate past Governor of the state, Ogbeni Rauf Aregbesola, was elected unopposed.

The 7th Assembly was constituted by Governor Gboyega Oyetola comprising 23 APC members as against three members for Peoples Democratic Party.

The other principal officers inaugurated are Mr. Femi Popoola (Boripe State Constituency) as Deputy Speaker, Mr. Babatunde Olatunji (Ife-North State Constituency) as Chief Whip, Mr. Morufu Olarewaju (Irewole State Constituency) as Majority Leader, Hon. Moshood Kunle Akande (Olorunda State Constituency) emerged the Deputy Majority Leader, Mr. Gbenga Ogunkanmi (Ayedire State Constituency) as Deputy Chief Whip, Minority Leader from PDP goes to Mr. Babajide Kofoworola (Ede State Constituency),  Mr. Nasiru Olateju (Irepodun State Constituency) as Central Senatorial Whip,  Mr. Babatunde Komolafe emerged East Senatorial Whip,  Mr. Babatunde Ibirogba as West Senatorial Whip

In his address, the Speaker who was full of appreciation thanked the lawmakers for the opportunity given to him to serve them.

He equally thanked the party for the trust and support given to him to emerge the Speaker of the House.

Owoeye promised to run an all inclusive parliament as recommendations and advice of lawmakers will be treated accordingly.

Related News  Oronsaye report: ‘Implementation 'll reduce cost of governance’

While declaring the 7th Assembly open, Governor Oyetola charged the new lawmakers to be up and doing and be good representatives of their various  constituencies.

He also promised that his administration will ensure a smooth relationship with the Assembly.

The immediate past Speaker, Dr Najeem Salam on his own part appreciated members of the 6th Assembly for their support which resulted to the success of the Assembly.

Owoeye emerges Osun Speaker

Akeredolu urges NIREC on religious harmony

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *