#Featured #News

Aiyedatiwa Wins Ondo APC Guber Ticket

…Thanks Tinubu, others, salutes aspirants

By Jubril Bada & Adedotun Ajayi


Ondo State Governor, Lucky Aiyedatiwa, has emerged the governorship candidate of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC), for the November 16 gubernatorial election in the state.

Aiyedatiwa defeated the former governorship candidate of Alliance for Democracy, Chief Olusola Oke, and 14 other aspirants to emerge winner of the keenly contested APC governorship primary held on Saturday and Sunday across 203 wards in the 18 Local Government Areas of the state.

The APC adopted direct mode of primary to select its candidate for the November gubernatorial election in the state.

According to the results of the election announced by the Primary Election Committee headed by the Kogi State Governor, Usman Ododo, on Monday morning in Akure, the state capital, Aiyedatiwa polled 48,569 votes to beat  other aspirants.

Former House of Representatives member, Mayowa Akinfolarin came second with 15,343 votes, while Olusola Oke came a distant third with 14,915 votes.

Immediate past Commissioner for Finance in the state, Wale Akinterinwa scored 1, 952, just as a serving Senator representing Ondo South, Dr. Jimoh Ibrahim polled 9, 456.

Aiyedatiwa won in 16 local government areas, while Oke won in llaje council. In Ifedore Local Government, the election was cancelled following the irregularities that marred the election in the area.

While giving the reports of the election in Ifedore, the Returning Officer, Oliva Okpala, said there were gun shoots violence, cheating while members of the party ran for their dear lives and could not cast their votes. 

Related News  Ekiti evacuates roadside traders

Announcing the results of the primary election at the International Culture and Events Centre (The Dome), Akure, Governor Ododo declared Aiyedatiwa the winner having polled the highest votes.

He lauded the conduct of the election, describing the process as credible, transparent and fair.

In attendance were INEC officials led by the State Resident Electoral Commissioner, Mrs Oluwatoyin Babalola, party leaders, security agents, international observers, media representatives, among other stakeholders.

Earlier, there was delay in the announcement of the election results due to the declaration of inconclusiveness in the primary election in Okitipupa Local Government by the Governorship Primary Election Committee.

 The rerun election took place in all the 13 wards of Okitipupa Local Government on Sunday with total validated registered party members of 9,515.

Meanwhile, Governor Aiyedatiwa has appreciated President Bola Tinubu, the Vice President, the National Chairman of the party, All Progressives Governors, national and state working committees members, and all stakeholders for their forthrightness in the process leading to his emergence as flag bearer of the APC in the Ondo 2024 governorship election.

In his acceptance speech shortly after he was declared winner of the primary election in Akure on Monday morning, Governor Aiyedatiwa expressed profound gratitude to party members, acknowledging their unwavering dedication and steadfast belief in his candidacy.

“At this moment, I extend my gratitude to all fellow aspirants who courageously contested for the flag bearer position of our party. Your participation not only showcased your bravery but also generated significant awareness within and outside our party.

Related News  Female condoms deny us sexual enjoyment– Nigerian women

” It brought new members into our fold, enriching democracy in Ondo State and fortifying our party’s foundation. Now is not the time for grievances, but for unity towards our party’s success to sustain its governance.

“ I assure you that there is room for all to flourish within our party, albeit at different times, if we remain steadfast. I applaud each of you for your aspirations towards advancing development.

“My heartfelt appreciation also goes to President Bola Tinubu for his leadership, the Vice President, the chairman of our esteemed party, all progressive governors, national and state working committee members, and all stakeholders for their forthrightness in the process leading to my emergence as flag bearer of our party in the Ondo 2024 governorship election, I cannot but thank all stakeholders, especially all the APC aborigines and party leaders who joined me in the tour of the 18 local government of the state. Additionally, I extend my gratitude to all traditional rulers. Together, we will continue to strive towards making Ondo State a better place,” he assured.

Aiyedatiwa Wins Ondo APC Guber Ticket

Aiyedatiwa wins Ondo APC governorship primary

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *